The Message of the Wind

The Message of the Wind (2006)
for Mixed Chorus and Piano

World Premiere:
April 2, 2011
CONCORA Concert
Wilde Auditorium, University of Hartford, West Hartford, CT
Richard Coffey conducts CONCORA
Jee Hyun Kim, piano

Duration: 7 minutes

Program Notes

The Message of the Wind for mixed chorus and piano (2006) was the first piece I composed after finishing my compulsory military service.  In this piece, I tried to recover my ambition of composition, which I had lost during the military service, and again, I tried to embrace the music I composed.  Many thanks for my younger sister, Yi-Yin Lee, who wrote this poem that became the lyric of this piece.  Based on her poem, I created the suitable musical expression and metaphor.

Originally, The Message of the Wind was written for the competition of the 2007 Literature and Arts Creation Award of the Ministry of Education, Taiwan.  However, because the rules of the competition changed in that year, I could not submit this piece.  Four years later, in 2010, I submitted this piece to the Amy Feldman Bermon Composer Project of the Hartt School, and this piece was selected.  Heartfelt gratitude to Mr. Richard Coffey, the conductor of CONCORA, for liking this piece and making a premiere performance possible.

The Message of the Wind (2005)
by Yi-Yin Lee

I am the wind, a whiff of warmness and briskness,
so, when a wind blows, please close your eyes and feel its presence.

I carry the aroma of hundreds of spring flowers;
I scatter the copious harvest of thousands of golden paddy fields;
I spread the fragrance of pomelo flowers of many gardens;
I trace gathering and departing clouds in the canopy.

When I become that wind,
I will secretly circle around you,
smelling your fragrant hair, long and straight,
caressing your delicate face,
and holding tight your slim waist.

My dearest,
I am the wind.
When it blows, please close your eyes and feel me.
Remember my warmness.
I’ll comfort your heart
and dispel your sadness.
Even though I am far away from you,
I’ll become the wind
for you.

The reverberation between hollow valleys
and the trickling of rivulets speak my
everlasting affection and yearning for you.
My dearest,
even if I am not with you,
when a wind blows,
please close your eyes
and sense where I am.

I am not away nor will I leave.
When a wind blows, you will see.

(English Translated by Yi-Yin Lee)

This is the world premiere recording.

為混聲合唱和鋼琴的《風的訊息》是我在2006年服完台灣兵役之後創作的第一個曲子,這個曲子我試圖找回在服役期間失去的那些創作的動機和心態,並且再次擁抱我對音樂的熱情。謝謝我的妹妹李怡瑩寫了這首詩,並且讓我使用它在這曲子中成為音樂表達的中心思想。

起初譜寫《風的訊息》是想要參加2007年台灣的教育部文藝創作獎,但因為那年比賽規則有所更動,所以這首曲子就無法參加那次的比賽。不過四年後的2010年,我參加了美國哈特音樂院的Amy Feldman Bermon Composer Project,而且很幸運地這首曲子最後獲得青睞。非常感謝美國康州的職業合唱團CONCORA的指揮Richard Coffey先生喜歡這首曲子,並且讓這首曲子有被首演的機會。

《風的訊息》(2005)
李怡瑩

我是一陣風,一陣溫暖舒爽的風。
當起風的時候,請妳閉上雙眼感受。

我馱載春天百花綻放的香氣,
我傳送千畝金色稻穗的豐腴,
我散布滿園柚子花香的清揚,
我承載萬里蒼穹白雲的聚散。

當我化成風時,
會在妳身邊圍繞盤旋,
會在妳飄揚長髮間竊取馨香,
會輕撫妳細緻的五官,
會輕擁妳纖細的腰際。

親愛的,
我是那一陣風,
當起風時,請妳閉上雙眼,
感受我的溫暖。
我會為妳撥開陰霾,
我會為妳驅離哀愁。
縱使我不在妳的身邊,
我會為妳成為那一陣風。

山谷跫音與溪豁流水
是我對妳不曾間斷的情愫與思念。
親愛的,縱使我不在妳的身邊,
起風的時候,
請妳閉上雙眼,感受我的存在。

我從來不曾走遠,也不會離開。
起風時,妳會明白。

– Feng-Hsu Lee (February 10, 2011 West Hartford, CT)

Leave a comment